Butterfly

.
.

Butterfly

.
.

I wake from a dream

That feeling between conciousness and sleep

Where am I? What am I doing?

Did all that just happen?

A crysalis broke open in my garden

and took flight in a brilliant light

filled with her favourite nectar

the garden bloomed

it was too fantastic

but it couldn’t have been real

if it were then how could the butterfly

still flutter in front of me

mocking my eyes

with her bright colours

and dancing in the air

carefree

in the gardens around me

but no longer here

forbidden fruits of my garden

yet my neighbours grow the same

the butterfly knows no borders

they are beautiful and fragile

no sting in their tails

so a dream it must be

I will go back to sleep to remember


©Copyrighted by Colin Ryan (2008)


.

3 responses

  1. **Lost In Thought**

    i thought i could get away with posting a comment but i blew up ur comment page with mine! soooooooooo anyways – here is a new blog i get to post a comment to anyways and i do enjoy it when u let ur creative mind flow n write. U kinda knocked me off my chair with ur stop by the page! haha….. i’ve been crazy busy but u know i think of u n hope ur okay always. Enjoyed this – hugs xx

    February 28, 2008 at 12:17 pm

  2. Anonymous

    If this is your own work, you’re wasted as a lion tamer. XX More fool her, I say. Yeah, you know who you are. 😦

    February 28, 2008 at 3:04 pm

  3. oh! kate

    Poignant. Beautiful imagery. Lyrical. And so very sad. *hug*

    I’ve said this to you before: soul of a poet.

    February 28, 2008 at 9:12 pm

Leave a Reply

