Butterflies Through My Window



Butterflies Through My Window


I hear the soft notes of a song

Float up like butterflies

From beneath my open window

A song I heard when you

First sang it to me

You wanted me to know

How much I meant

I could only sing the chorus

But you knew all the words

As I fumble now through old papers

And a photograph of you

Falls from the pile

Picking up your smiling face

I hear your voice

Sing that song to me again

And I find I know the verses

Now you’re far away

I think one day

We might sing this song

In a fine duet

With me below the window

And you can be my Juliet

Then throw me down

A string of kisses

So I can climb

And rescue my princess

From the place where I keep

All our memories


©Copyrighted by Colin Ryan (2010)


Leave a Reply

