I Need A New Planet

alone-in-a-crowd

I Need A New Planet

Alone, alone
In a crowded room
Separated from stars
Like an earth bound moon

I appear in view
As a part of the group
But unnoticed by those
In the intimate loop

I cannot connect
Through this conscious divide
Meeting vacuous stares
Our two worlds wont collide

I need a new planet
Where the people care more
For the future they leave
For the children they bore

Must I live my whole life
Like a cloud in the sky
Watching people below
Never learning to fly

If so take me now
Or I’m left with the choice
To forget all I’ve learned
Silence my inner voice

If I could just wake
All the minds from their sleep
We could plant a new seed
A bright future we’d reap

I could finally live
In a world of my peers
Having friends all around
Share our hopes and our fears

But if I don’t try
They will live fast asleep
Let my child’s future fall
Into slavery deep

So choice I have none
And alone I will stay
Just hoping the others
Will join me some day

©Copyrighted by Colin Ryan (2014)

2 responses

  1. Lotus Flow

    Really enjoyed reading this. Love how you incorporated the stars and the moon. Beautiful write. Perfect photograph too!

    February 5, 2014 at 6:26 pm

    • Thanks Lotus. I really appreciate that you took the time to read it

      February 7, 2014 at 2:42 pm

Leave a Reply

